HOUSING OPPORTUNITIES COMMISSION OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY

10400 Detrick Avenue Kensington, Maryland 20895 (240) 627-9425

Special Session Minutes

August 11, 2020

A Special Session of the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County was conducted via an online platform and teleconference on Tuesday, August 11, 2020, with moderator functions occurring at 10400 Detrick Avenue, Kensington, Maryland beginning at 11:04 a.m. Those in attendance were:

Via Online/Teleconference

Roy Priest, Chair Frances Kelleher, Vice Chair Richard Y. Nelson, Chair Pro Tem Pamela Byrd Linda Croom Jeffrey Merkowitz Jackie Simon

Also Attending via Online/Teleconference

Stacy Spann, Executive Director
Christina Autin
Kayrine Brown
Nathan Bouvelle
Jennifer Arrington

Aisha Memon, General Counsel Nicolas Deandreis Zachary Marks Gail Willison Eamon Lorinez

Commission Support

Patrice Birdsong, Spec. Asst. to the Commission

Vice Chair Kelleher opened the meeting welcoming new Commissioner Jeffrey Merkowitz to the Board. The Commission adjourned the open session at 11:10 a.m. and reconvened in closed session at 11:23 a.m.

In compliance with Section 3-306(c)(2), General Provisions Article, Maryland Code, the following is a report of the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County's closed session held on August 11, 2020 at approximately 11:23 a.m. via an online platform and teleconference, with moderator functions occurring at 10400 Detrick Avenue, Kensington, MD 20895. The meeting was closed under the authority of Section 3-305(b)(3) and Section 3-305(b)(13) to discuss a potential real property acquisition and the confidential commercial and financial terms of a real estate transaction.

Special Session August 11, 2020 Page 2 of 2

The meeting was closed on a motion by Vice Chair Kelleher, seconded by Chair Pro Tem Nelson, with Commissioners Priest, Kelleher, Nelson, Byrd, Croom, Merkowitz, and Simon voting in approval. The following persons were present during the closed session: Executive Director Stacy Spann, General Counsel Aisha Memon, Christina Autin, Kayrine Brown, Nathan Bouvelle, Cornelia Kent, Eamon Lorinez, Zachary Marks, Gail Willison, Jennifer Arrington, Nicolas Deandreis, and Patrice Birdsong, Special Assistant to the Commission.

In closed session, the Commission discussed a potential real property acquisition and the confidential commercial and financial terms of a real estate transaction. Staff was directed to continue to explore the potential transaction; no formal action was taken.

The closed session was adjourned at 12:17 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Stacy L. Spann Secretary-Treasurer

/pmb

Approved: September 9, 2020