HOUSING OPPORTUNITIES COMMISSION OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY

10400 Detrick Avenue Kensington, Maryland 20895 (240) 627-9425

Special Session Minutes

February 19, 2021

A Special Session of the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County was conducted via an online platform and teleconference on Friday, February 19, 2021, with moderator functions occurring at 10400 Detrick Avenue, Kensington, Maryland beginning at 12:18 p.m. Those in attendance were:

Via Online/Teleconference

Roy Priest, Chair Frances Kelleher, Vice Chair Richard Y. Nelson, Chair Pro Tem Jeffrey Merkowitz Jackie Simon

Absent

Pamela Byrd Linda Croom

Also Attending via Online/Teleconference

Stacy Spann, Executive Director Kayrine Brown, Deputy Executive Director **Zachary Marks**

Aisha Memon, General Counsel

Kathryn Hollister

Eamon Lorinez, Deputy General Counsel Ellen Goff Cornelia Kent Jennifer Arrington Gio Kaviladze Victoria Dixon Hyunsuk Choi Vivian Benjamin Claire Kim Fred Swan Kristyn Greco Marcus Ervin Matt Husman Nathan Bovelle

Commission Support

Charnita Jackson

Patrice Birdsong, Spec. Asst. to the Commission

Chair Priest opened the meeting welcoming all to the Special Session of the Housing Opportunities Commission. The sole item on the agenda was to conduct a vote to meet in closed session pursuant to Special Session February 19, 2021 Page 2 of 2

Section 3-305(b)(3) and Section 3-305(b)(13) of the General Provisions Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland.

There being no further business to come before this session of the Commission, the open session adjourned at 12:21 p.m. and reconvened in closed session at approximately 12:25 p.m.

In compliance with Section 3-306(c)(2), General Provisions Article, Maryland Code, the following is a report of the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County's closed session held on February 19, 2021 at approximately 12:25 p.m. via an online platform and teleconference, with moderator functions occurring at 10400 Detrick Avenue, Kensington, MD 20895. The meeting was closed under the authority of Sections 3-305(b)(3) and 3-305(b)(13) to discuss one topic: (1) the acquisition of real property located in southern Montgomery County (pursuant to Section 3-305(b)(3)), and confidential commercial and financial information related to the acquisition (pursuant to Section 3-305(b)(13)).

The meeting was closed and the closing statement dated February 19, 2021 was adopted on a motion made by Chair Priest, seconded by Chair Pro Tem Nelson, with Commissioners Priest, Kelleher, Nelson, Merkowitz, and Simon voting in approval. Commissioners Byrd and Croom were necessarily absent and did not participate in the vote. The following persons were present during the closed session: Roy Priest, Frances Kelleher, Richard Y. Nelson, Jr., Jeffrey Merkowitz, Jackie Simon, Stacy Spann, Kayrine Brown, Aisha Memon, Eamon Lorincz, Zachary Marks, Cornelia Kent, Fred Swan, Charnita Jackson, Nathan Bovelle, Claire Kim, Matt Husman, Vivian Benjamin, Jennifer Arrington, Hyunsuk Choi, Gio Kaviladze, Ellen Goff, Kathryn Hollister, Victoria Dixon, Marcus Ervin, Kristyn Greco and Patrice Birdsong.

In closed session, the Commission discussed the below topic and took the following action:

- 1. **Topic**: the acquisition of real property located in southern Montgomery County (pursuant to Section 3-305(b)(3)), and confidential commercial and financial information related to the acquisition (pursuant to Section 3-305(b)(13)).
 - a. Action Taken: With a quorum present, the Commission duly adopted Resolution No. 21-22AS, with Commissioners Priest, Kelleher, Nelson, Merkowitz, and Simon voting in approval, which approved moving forward with the acquisition of real property located in Southern Montgomery County by a single-purpose entity that will ultimately be owned and controlled by HOC.

The closed session was adjourned at 1:07 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Stacy L. Spann Secretary-Treasurer

/pmb

Approved: March 3, 2021