HOUSING OPPORTUNITIES COMMISSION OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY

10400 Detrick Avenue Kensington, Maryland 20895 (240) 627-9425

Special Session Minutes

June 2, 2021

A Special Session of the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County was conducted via an online platform and teleconference on Wednesday, June 2, 2021, with moderator functions occurring at 10400 Detrick Avenue, Kensington, Maryland beginning at 4:05 p.m. Those in attendance were:

Via Online/Teleconference

Roy Priest, Chair Frances Kelleher, Vice Chair Richard Y. Nelson, Chair Pro Tem Pamela Byrd Jeffrey Merkowitz Jackie Simon

<u>Absent</u>

Linda Croom

Also Attending via Online/Teleconference

Stacy Spann, _{Executive Director} Aisha Memon, _{General Counsel} Christina Autin Cornelia Kent Lynn Hayes Kayrine Brown, _{Deputy Executive Director} Darcel Cox Timothy Goetzinger Nathan Bovelle Nicolas Deandreis

<u>Commission Support</u> Patrice Birdsong, Spec. Asst. to the Commission

Chair Priest opened the meeting welcoming all to the Special Session of the Housing Opportunities Commission, and roll call of participating Commissioners.

I. ITEMS REQUIRING DELIBERTION and/or ACTION

A. Consider the Actions Taken at the May 26, 2021 Special Session Regarding Committees

With a quorum present Chair Priest informed that during a special closed session held on May 26, 2021, the Commission discussed the employment of the Executive Director. There was also discussion to

Special Session June 2, 2021 Page 2 of 2

approve forming a Search Committee, and authorizing the Committee to prepare an RFP. After additional consideration, Chair Priest reported that he has concluded that it would be beneficial if the entire Commission participated in the various stages of the search process.

Chair Priest presented a motion to consider rescinding the creation of the Search Committee including any appointments thereto, and any authorization so given. The motion was made by Chair Pro Tem Nelson and seconded by Vice Chair Kelleher. Affirmative votes were cast by Commissioners Priest, Kelleher, Nelson, Byrd, Merkowitz, and Simon. Commissioner Croom was necessarily absent and did not participate in the vote.

There was no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 4:07 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Stacy L. Spann Secretary-Treasurer

/pmb

Approved: June 9, 2021