#### HOUSING OPPORTUNITIES COMMISSION OF MONTGOMERY COUNTY

10400 Detrick Avenue Kensington, Maryland 20895 (240) 627-9425

# **Special Session Minutes**

# **September 21, 2023**

A Special Session of the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County was conducted via virtual platform on Thursday, September 21, 2023, with moderator functions occurring at 10400 Detrick Avenue, Kensington, Maryland beginning at 6:02pm. Those in attendance were:

### **Present**

Roy Priest, Chair Frances Kelleher, Vice Chair Jeffrey Merkowitz, Chair Pro Tem Richard Y. Nelson Linda Croom

#### Absent

Pamela Byrd Robin Salomon

**IT Support** 

**Commission Support** 

Jocelyn Koon, Senior Executive Assistant

Aries Cruz Irma Rodriquez

Chair Priest opened the meeting with welcome remarks and an introduction to the Special Session of the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County. Chair Priest introduced Commissioner Merkowitz, Kelleher, Nelson and Croom.

Commissioner Priest read the Written Closing Statement and made a motion to adopt the statement and close the meeting. Commissioner Croom seconded the motion, with Commissioners Priest, Croom, Kelleher, Merkowitz, and Nelson voting in approval. Commissioners Byrd and Salomon were necessarily absent and did not participate in the vote.

Based upon this report and there being no further business to come before this session of the Commission, the Commission adjourned the open session at 6:05p.m. and reconvened in closed session at 6:08p.m.

In compliance with Section 3-306(c)(2), General Provisions Article, Maryland Code, the following is a report of the Housing Opportunities Commission of Montgomery County's closed session held virtually on September 21, 2023 at approximately 6:08 p.m. with moderator functions occurring at 10400 Detrick Avenue, Kensington, MD 20895. The meeting was closed under the authority of Section 3-305(b)(1) to discuss the employment, compensation, and performance of the Executive Director.

The meeting was closed and the closing statement dated September 21, 2023 was adopted on a motion made by Commissioner Priest, seconded by Commissioner Croom, with Commissioners Priest, Croom, Kelleher, Merkowitz, and Nelson voting in favor of the motion. Commissioners Byrd and Salomon was necessarily absent and did not participate in the vote. The following persons were present: Roy Priest, Frances Kelleher, Jeffrey Merkowitz, Pamela Byrd (who joined after the vote), Richard Nelson, and Linda Croom.

In closed session, the Commission discussed the below topics and took the following actions:

- 1. **Topic**: The employment, compensation, and performance of the Executive Director (pursuant to Section 3-305(b)(1)).
  - a. **Action Taken**: With a quorum present, Commissioners Priest, Kelleher, Nelson, Byrd, Croom, and Merkowitz approved awarding a bonus to the Executive Director based on her performance and in accordance with her employment contract. Commissioner Salomon was necessarily absent and did not participate in the vote.
  - b. **Action Taken**: With a quorum present, Commissioners Kelleher, Nelson, Byrd, Merkowitz, and Croom approved increasing the Executive Director's base pay. Commissioner Priest voted against the action, and Commissioner Solomon was necessarily absent and did not participate in the vote.
  - c. Action Taken: With a quorum present, Commissioners Priest, Merkowitz, Croom, and Byrd approved, pending legal opinion that it is legal to do so, changing the Executive Director's title and updating the Bylaws as necessary. Commissioners Nelson and Kelleher voted against the action, and Commissioner Salomon was necessarily absent and did not participate in the vote.

The closed session was adjourned at 8:20 p.m.